VEGAN

A vegan diet, or a person who is referred to as a 'vegan'', eats no animals products whatsoever.  

A vegan diet excludes meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, eggs, milk, cheese, butter and honey.

Products such as gelatine (derived from animal products) are not permitted in the vegan diet.

A vegan diet focuses largely on fruit, vegetables,nuts and various forms of protein including pulses and grains.

 

YES

NO

Vegetables

Meat

Fruit

Poultry

Nuts

Fish

Seeds

Shellfish

Grains

Eggs

 

Milk

 

Cheese

 

Butter

 

Gelatine

 

Vegetarian

 

A vegetarian in someone who does not eat meat, poultry, fish or shellfish, but generally does eat eggs and dairy products (including butter and milk).

Some vegetarians may be open to eating dishes that make use of gelatine, while others may not.

YES

NO

Vegetables

Meat

Fruit

Poultry

Nuts

Fish

Eggs

Shellfish

Milk

Gelatine

Cheese

 

Butter

 

Seeds

 

Bread (Grains)

Plant Foods

 

 

Then there are various types of vegetarians such as:

 

Lacto**-vegetarians

No fish, poultry, meat or eggs but include dairy (such as milk, butter and cheese) in their diet. 

 

Ovo***-vegetarians

No meat or dairy products, but eggs and permissible.

 

Lacto-ovo vegetarians

No fish, poultry or meat, butdairy and eggs are included.

 

Pescatarian/Pescetarian****

This is a diet with no meat, poultry or animal flesh or products, but fish (and generally eggs and dairy products) are permitted.

 

Semi-vegetarian/Flexitarian

This is a relatively new term and refers to a person who eats mostly a vegetarian diet, but occasionally eats meat (perhaps on a special occasion).

 

Raw vegan (Raw food diet)

A raw vegan diet consists of unprocessed vegan foods that have not been heated above 46°C.  This diet will consist mainly of uncooked vegetables, fruit, nuts and pulses

 

Fruitarian

A fruitarian eats a diet of fruit, seeds and nutsbut does not eat any form of animal roduct (no meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dairy) or vegetables and grains.

 

 

*Plant foods include things like chickpeas, lentils, tofu and kidney beans. 

**Lacto comes from the Latin word for milk.

***Ovo comes from the Latin word for eggs.

****Pesce comes from the Latin word for fish.

 

JAIN VEGETARIANS

Jainism is an Indian religion that follows a path of non-violence towards all living creatures.  As a result, followers of Jainism have strict rules for their personal diets.  Should any of your guests follow a Jain diet, it’s a good idea to understand what they can and can’t eat and to prepare delicious meals that fit into their way of life.

Jains do not eat meat, poultry, fish, eggs or dairy products (they do drink milk).  Followers of Jainism do not eat root vegetables such as potatoes, onion, garlic, carrots and beetroot.  Jains do not eat yeast – so store-counter bread is not an option.  Many Jains do not eat honey and intoxicants such as liquor (in any form) do not form part of the Jain way of life.  For strict Jains, garlic, ginger and vinegar are also not permissible, and eggplants and pumpkin are avoided.  Many Jains don’t include mushrooms in their diet.

YES

NO

Vegetables (not root vegetables)

Meat

Fruit

Poultry

Nuts

Fish

Seeds

Eggs

Yeast-free Bread

Milk

Tofu

Cheese

Soy Beans

Potatoes

Legumes

Gelatine

Butter

Onion

Lentils

Garlic

 

Honey

 

Mushroom